Baby Names

One of the first things we did, quite early on in the pregnancy was choose baby names. Although we didn’t know the sex of the baby at this point, it helped make the whole thing seem a bit more real. I had a list as long as my arm of both boys and girls names. We decided relatively quickly on our girls name, but we could not, for the life of us, decide on boys names.

I love old fashioned, traditional boys names like Harry, Henry and George, and two of those names have meaning within my family. ‘“This will be easy”, I thought to myself, all three are such cute little boys names, I couldn’t wait to tell A my names! Well, I did share them with him and he didn’t like them, but he too had chosen names with meaning to him and I was excited to hear them. I didn’t know what names to expect from him, I didn’t know his Great Grandads names or Great Uncles names, but knew that there wasn’t any more variations of the name William/Bill that we could use, or that we liked. What names had he decided upon to name our first Son? Well, they weren’t the kind of meaningful names I had hoped for. Instead, he had chosen names from his favourite TV shows and game characters. Toby (from West Wing), Josiah/Jed (from West Wing) any boys name where we could abbreviate his name to C.J (from West Wing). I couldn’t imagine calling my little boy any of those names. I could maybe live with Toby, but then I think of Carveries and I get hungry!

When I got to 20 weeks pregnant, we went into the abnormalities/gender scan only in agreement with a girls name. I don’t suppose everyone decides on baby names by the time they find out the sex of the baby, some aren’t in agreement even weeks after their baby has been born. The sonographer finally asked us if we wanted to know the sex, it must have been a sign because we found out we were having a baby girl which we would name Hallie Kate Logan. Yes, she is named after one of the ‘twins’ from ‘The Parent Trap’, but her middle name is taken from her Auntie Katherine, Andrews sister, and I think it suits her very well.

J x

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

